Enable announces fibre deployment programme for Christchurch schools

(Last Updated On: June 4, 2014)

Fibre broadband network provider, Enable has today announced its plans to make fibre broadband services available to 33 more schools within its coverage area by 31 December 2015.

Enable is planning to build fibre broadband to all schools within the coverage area by the end of 2015 – and it is on target to meet this plan.

“Delivering the benefits of fibre broadband in schools has been a significant focus of Enable since the business was first established in 2007,” said Enable CEO Steve Fuller.

“Being able to announce our plans to make fibre broadband services available to 33 more schools is a very positive milestone.”

Over the coming weeks, Enable will complete its third year of fibre broadband roll-out across Christchurch and to a number of towns in Waimakariri and Selwyn districts. This programme has included a significant focus on schools – and will bring the total number of schools that can access Enable’s fibre broadband services to 113.

Enable is in the process of contacting all the schools to let them know when Enable plans to have services available to them.

“We know that getting access to fibre broadband is vitally important to schools and wanted to ensure that we provided as much information as we could to schools about when services would be available,” said Mr Fuller.

The feedback that Enable has received from schools is that having a clear understanding of when fibre broadband services will be available helps the school plan whether to invest in short-term alternative connectivity solutions or not.


Schools to receive fibre broadband services
by December 2015:

  1. Avonhead School
  2. Avonside Girls’ High School
  3. Bromley School
  4. Cashmere Primary School
  5. Christchurch East School
  6. Christchurch South Intermediate
  7. Emmanuel Christian School
  8. Heathcote Valley School
  9. Linwood North School
  10. Mt Pleasant School
  11. New Brighton Catholic School (Christchurch)
  12. North New Brighton School
  13. Nova Montessori School
  14. Opawa School
  15. Parkview School
  16. Prebbleton School
  17. Queenspark School
  18. Rowley Avenue School
  19. Rudolf Steiner School (Christchurch)
  20. Seven Oaks Education Centre
  21. Sockburn School
  22. South New Brighton School
  23. St Anne’s School (Woolston)
  24. St Bernadette’s School (Hornby)
  25. St Mark’s School (Christchurch)
  26. St Martin’s School
  27. Star of the Sea School (Christchurch)
  28. Sumner School
  29. Tamariki School
  30. Templeton School
  31. Van Asch Deaf Education Centre
  32. Waltham School
  33. Woodend School


Enable is a partnership between Crown Fibre Holdings Limited and Christchurch City owned Enable Services Limited to build and operate the ultra-fast broadband (UFB) network for Christchurch and surrounding centres.

More at



Categories: Article