Meet the best Minecrafters in the land 2022

(Last Updated On: August 24, 2022)

Thanks to everyone who entered the INTERFACE Minecraft Competition 2022, in association with Microsoft.

There were impressive creations as you came up with some awesome ideas to ‘Build a Better Future’. Judging was tough. Decisions are in. The winners of this year’s student competitions are …

Primary (Years 1-6)



Zero, Loki Che, Our Lady of the Sacred Heart School, Auckland

Runner-up Second:

The Eco Cube, Leo Sweeney, Logan Walker, Thomas Rankin and Tom Reed, Paparoa Street School, Christchurch

Runner-up Third Equal:

Sustainable Countryside Village, Alisa Wong, Sienna Moreland and Esta Lene, Parkview Pārua School, Christchurch

Eco Friendly, Christine Keller, Elizabeth Saunders and Jessica Mann, Samuel Marsden Collegiate School, Wellington

Honourable mentions:

  • Sustainable Farm, Cerys Flye, Pegasus Bay School, Canterbury
  • Eco Village, Evan Meng, Murrays Bay School, Auckland
  • Clean Water, Cooper Gordon, Papakura Central School, Auckland

Watch the winning Primary category entries.

Intermediate (Years 7-8)

Renewable Island


Renewable Island, Angus Grayson, Xavier Smith, and Aidan Connell, Rosmini College, Auckland

Runner-up Second Equal:

Kaitiakitanga, Hunter Hormann, Alex Brown, Tyler Maley, and Ashton Lamont, Ashburton Intermediate, Canterbury

Kirikiriroa’s Futuristic Enviro School, Kayla Bryant, Angelina Wang, Jisun Park, and Sofya Kabalinskaya, Fairfield Intermediate School, Hamilton

Runner-up Third:

Eco Street, Sierra Hargreaves, Westland High School, Hokitika

Honourable mentions:

  • Saving the Kauri Trees, Monique Whyte, Amelie Gaiger, Zahra Arnold and Megan Pratt, Morrinsville Intermediate School, Waikato
  • Solar Turbo Boost, Leodin Joblin-Mills, Bruce McGregor and Ethan Wells, Whanganui Intermediate, Manawatū-Whanganui
  • The Enviro Village, Nilanjan Vyas and Rudra Chakrabarti, Scott Point School, Auckland

Watch the winning Intermediate category entries.

Secondary (Years 9+)

Turtles and Trash

Winner: Turtles and Trash, Tahi Davies, Thomas Williams and Andrew Williams, Burnside High School, Christchurch

Runner-up Second: Gen-NEO, Deven Battish, Rowan Milnor and Samit Ram Swayambhatla, Auckland International College, Auckland

Runner-up Third: Underground Farm, Ben Hosie, Mathias Kirwan, Braidyn Taitapanui, and Anika Illingworth, Mana College, Porirua

Honourable mentions:

  • Futuristic Bunker, Zaden Thompson, Papanui High School, Christchurch
  • Automatic Wheat Farm, AJ Douglas, Northern Health School, Waikato South Unit

Watch the winning Secondary category entries.

Congratulations to all our winners. As well as bragging rights as the best Minecrafters in the country, each category winner receives a #StikBot Zanimation Studio, and placings also receive some Minecraft goodies!

We received a record number of entries this year and the standard was extremely high. Well done to everyone who participated. Also, thanks to Microsoft for supporting the competition.

We can’t wait to see what you do in next year’s competition.

Our teaching Minecraft maestro is …

We also ran a category for teachers to showcase how they are using Minecraft: Education Edition in their classrooms.

Find out here who won the teachers’ category.

Minecraft: Education Edition

Minecraft: Education Edition is specially designed for use in the classroom, offering tools, options and resources not built into the regular Minecraft program. It is available free to schools under the Microsoft Schools agreement with the Ministry of Education.

For more information about Minecraft: Education Edition go to

INTERFACE August 2022

Categories: Article